Restart. Refresh. Restore.

Today like a good Apple user, I upgraded my computer and iphone.
I hit “Upgrade”. My phone restarted. Refreshed. Deleted. Then restored.

Oh how I long for those words in my life.

I want to restart. Delete the old overloaded information. And see restoration at the end.

So, that’s what I’m doing.

I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted by the barrage of information, theology, mediocre quotes, out-of-context Bible verses, Youtube videos, new worship songs, and twitter feeds. All the books, podcasts, devotionals, conferences, sermons, and such have taken away the very essence of our faith. I’m not saying these things are bad. No. In fact I have grown spiritually from many of the things I have just listed.

But, what I am saying is that most of it has put the BS in our Bible Study.

We were created for a simpler faith full of authenticity.
Our faith deserves focus. 
Less is more. 

I’m going back to square one.
I want to stand on a faith that is confidently my own, rather than the opinions of other men and women.
In order to get back to the center of my faith I’m going to have to take all of that off and come to terms with who I am before the Throne of Grace, rather than my collection of resources.

This sounds freeing and mortifying.
But I believe buried under all of this “faith stuff”, there’s something way better.
I’m off to discover it again and I expect to run into something brand new on the way.

Time to Restart. Refresh. and Restore.
Join me?

2 thoughts on “Restart. Refresh. Restore.

  1. Liked this current blog. I feel that there are lots of times in our lives that we do need to Restart, Refresh and Restore our walk with Christ. Sometimes we do tend to become stale in a sense if you look at it in a different way. Sometimes we have to re-evaluate and re-discover ourselves a little deeper and then go from there. Hope this makes sense.

    • Something else I would like to add: Sometimes Church’s as a whole need to Restart, Refresh & Restore also like some are doing now.

Leave a Reply

